KIRKCUDBRIGHT DEVELOPMENT TRUST AGM

Minutes of the Meeting of Kirkcudbright Development Trust AGM Monday 6th November 2023 @ 7pm in The Community Room, The Johnston

Trustees Present: Lesley Garbutt (Chair) Helen Henderson (Treasurer) Rob Asbridge Andy Campbell Francis Kearney John Blaikie Ruth McMorran

Trustees Apologies: Neil Picken, Hollie Mitchell

Present:	
Debbie Craig	Kirkcudbright Development Trust
Jenny Milby	Kirkcudbright Development Trust
Annie Stoddart	Kirkcudbright Development Trust (Minute Taker)
Sarah Dawes	Kirkcudbright Development Trust

In Attendance:	
Craig Nash	Silvercraigs Caravan Park
Vivien Hamilton	Member
Ian Hamilton	Member
Marthie Clark	Non Member
Pat Parker	Member
Eilean Parker	Youth Project
Carol McQuistan	Member
John McQuistan	Member

1.Welcome & Apologies

Lesley Garbutt welcomed all to the AGM.

Apologies had been received from Neil Picken, Hollie Mitchell, Ian McIntyre, Katherine Naylor, Marion Dixon, Jo Westwood, Margaret King and Felicity Gelder.

2. Minutes of the AGM 7th November, 2022

The Minutes from the 2022 AGM had been circulated. There were no matters arising and the 2022 AGM minutes were proposed by Ruth McMorran and seconded by Rob Asbridge.

3. Chair's Report

Copies of the Chair's report were circulated. Lesley Garbutt confirmed that transfer of ownership of the Bothy was progressing.

4.Treasurer's Report

The Statement of Financial Activities for the Year Ended 31st December 2022 had been circulated and Helen Henderson confirmed that the finances were on track for 2023. Both Debbie Craig and Eilean Parker were commended for their successful fundraising. Ian Hamilton requested further details on the expenditure on Raising Funds. Helen Henderson agreed to consult the auditors notes and respond directly.

The annual accounts to the year-end 2022 were proposed by Francis Kearney and seconded by Ruth McMorran.

The proposal to continue with auditor Farries Kirk & McVean was agreed unanimously.

5.Election of Office Bearers and Trustees

The Chair invited Jenny Milby, Office Manager, to take over the Chair. Jenny thanked all the office bearers and trustees for their hard work and support over the last year.

Nominations for Chair, Treasurer and Secretary were requested and the following were voted in: Chair – Lesley Garbutt. Proposed by Andy Campbell and Seconded by Rob Asbridge Treasurer – Helen Henderson. Proposed by Andy Campbell and Seconded by Rob Asbridge There were no nominations for the position of Secretary.

6.AOCB

The AGM marked Francis Kearney's retirement from the Board. Lesley Garbutt thanked Francis on behalf of the Trustees and Staff for his dedication and hard work, particularly over the last year. An appeal was made for new Trustees.

Eilean Parker was commended for her excellent work with the Youth Project. Eilean had recently organised a Football Tournament for four local groups which had proven a great success. Eilean planned to continue and expand this next year.

The low attendance at the AGM was discussed and it was noted that a significant proportion of members had connections with the town but did not live locally; many had not provided email addresses and were not on social media; and postage costs were prohibitive It was suggested that the 2024 AGM be advertised in The Galloway News, noticeboards and in the Bulletin and a promotional event for the Trust be held in the Spring. In addition the Information Centre would be opened for the Christmas event on 26th November. Lesley Garbutt closed the meeting by thanking all those in attendance.